My Week Day At a Glance

As a freelance digital marketer & now a REALTOR®, I've had the luxury of working on my own schedule since I graduated from college. Don't get me wrong- I've definitely had jobs where I was required to be in an office for certain hours of the day. I know the pain, but I've definitely been lucky that my pain has been short-lived. 

I'm grateful that my daily activities are, for the most part, left to my own discretion. I'm able to plan what I need to do each week and adjust when necessary each day. I'm very good at scheduling, and actually enjoy organizing my days and to-do lists to be the most efficient as possible. 

Of course, some work days are so busy that I'm out for 9+ hours, and some work days can feel like weekends to me. However, here's what my average daily routine looks like. 

FullSizeRender 2.jpg

6:00 a.m.-6:30 a.m. 

Thankfully I'm a morning person because, if not, I'd absolutely dread J's morning alarm which goes off at 6 a.m. each week day morning. He's usually out of the house by 6:30 a.m., but by then I'm slowly waking up. I'll usually sleep in until 7 a.m., but lately the sun has been so bright coming into our room (even with closed shades and curtains), that my body is ready to get out of bed by 6:45 a.m. 

I hop out of bed and head straight for the coffee pot. I need my morning coffee! I'll sometimes already have coffee brewed if I remembered to schedule the coffee pot the night before, but most times, I'll start it up after getting out of bed. I feed Luna and let her out to use the restroom, grab my coffee, and plop on the couch. 

 similar coffee pot  here.

similar coffee pot here.

7:00 a.m.

I watch the morning news or recorded TV shows as I answer work emails, schedule social media posts for the day, and manage our house hold accounts. Of course, I catch up on everything that's happened overnight by scrolling through Facebook for probably way longer than necessary, but oh well. 

8:00 a.m.

I make myself breakfast, usually consisting of some form of eggs: omelette, breakfast bacon and egg taco, or scrambled eggs with avocado. 

After breakfast, I head to my bedroom to get ready for my morning exercises. I make the bed, sometimes sort laundry to get it started for the day, and change into workout clothes. 

9:10 a.m.

Lately I've been trying to get out the door sooner to beat the summer heat, but I'm usually beginning my morning walk with Luna a little after 9 a.m. each morning. We'll walk around the neighborhood and up the hills before heading back in. 

After walking, I head inside to do my daily Blogilates workouts according to the calendar. 

10:45 a.m. 

I'll hop in the shower after working out to get for the rest of the day. By now, I've probably talked to my twin sis and business partner 10 times by now. We schedule our days out a week in advance, but we're always chatting about when and where to meet, and what else we need to do each day. 

12:00 p.m. 

I'm either out the door heading to meet twin sis to preview apartment complexes for clients or new build home communities, or, on days when I'm working at home, prepping myself some lunch. 

For the remainder of the afternoon sis and I are doing work, i.e. following up with clients and potential clients, previewing properties, creating marketing campaigns, etc. 

5:00 p.m.

J gets home around this time so I try shut down work for the rest of the day. Grant it, I often get phone calls and/or texts later in the evening, but I try as much as I can to not talk work after he gets home. 

5:45 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.

I grew up eating around 6:30 p.m. on week days unless we had tennis practice, but J is a later eater, so I often start prepping our dinner after we've chatted for a bit. 

7:00 p.m.

After dinner, J and I love to watch TV shows and movies together until going to bed. I've been hooked on watching Friends re-runs on Netflix lately, and I'm so glad that he actually enjoys it, too. We also watch a ton of movies we find on Netflix, RedBox, and AmazonPrime. 

9:45 p.m. to 10 p.m. 

Because J has to wake up so early, we don't stay up too late. We're usually in bed a little before or by 10 p.m. I sometimes read if I'm not too tired, but J is one of those lucky ones who, when his head hits the pillow, is out for the count. 

What does your day usually look like? Do you see any similarities to your daily routine? I'd love to read in the comments below!